Melancholy

The mirror broke my reflection

Shattered me to pieces

I pick up the shards

But I can’t feel the pain.

 

Is this how it feels

to lose yourself into barren existence;

to drown in a sea of nothingness;

to forget the soul in your veins?

 

I try to hold on to the tiny pieces

Catch the sliver breath of my soul

Wandering to find myself

The one I lost a long time ago.

 

And I wonder, if I shot Cupid’s arrow into my heart

Will I fall in love

or will my heart cease to beat

and fall into a dreamless sleep?

 

 

This poem was inspired by Celdee‘s illustration, Displacement 

Illustration by Celdee

2 thoughts on “Melancholy

Leave a Reply

