Hurt

Reading Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper is exhausting my mental and emotional capacity, I feel like breaking down. I needed a break and drawing seems like the best way to release all of the feelings bottled inside.

edgeofjade jade herrera illustration girl hurt

“Do I want to die from the inside out or the outside in?”
― Laurie Halse Anderson, Wintergirls
Jade Herrera (c) 2013 | Hurt | Colored Pencil on Primer Paper

This isn’t my usual style. This is actually the first time I’ve tried drawing anything like this. I really wanted to stay on my comfort zone but I’ll never get better. So, I decided to try and do something different.

I think this is my best one yet. Every time I look at this one, I feel like I’m actually looking at myself. I wanted to draw it with more angst and feeling, with the foreground of a shattered mirror but since I’m short on colored pencils, I’ll put that off for now.

edgeofjade jade herrera illustration girl hurt

Jade Herrera (c) 2013 | Hurt | Colored Pencil on Primer Paper

Leave a Reply

