Book Review: House Rules by Jodi Picoult

Format: EBook| ISBN: 0743296435 | Read from April 5 to April 16 | Rating: 1 of 5 stars

House Rules is about Jacob Hunt, an 18 year old kid with Aspergers and fascination with forensic science and crime investigation. His family loves him and follows a set of house rules to make his life as normal as possible. All goes well until his tutor ends up missing and was later found dead, covered with Jacob’s blanket. His actions make him the main suspect of the crime and what ensues is a legal battle to prove either his innocence or insanity.

I am in love with Jodi Picoult’s books. After reading My Sister’s Keeper, Handle with Care and Vanishing Acts. Her books tackle moral issues and that’s what I love about it. I also feel like I’m watching Law & Order because of the legal battles scattered all over the books.

So you can imagine how excited I was to read House Rules, only to have my expectations come crashing down. It reminded me that no matter how great an author is, I should always give space for some doubts, if not, I’ll only feel miserable.

There were some points that I really like about the book though. I appreciate that she took the time to research, write and raise awareness for Autism and Aspergers, but this book was getting me nowhere. Even the crime scenes and bits of forensic science didn’t interest me at all (and that’s coming from a die hard CSI fan). I literally wanted to continuously slam my head on the table and tear off my hair because of frustration. One second, I thought that I was finally getting somewhere only to get back where I I first started.

tumblr_m6v26iy4YI1ranhnao1_500

 

Reading this book almost gave me an anxiety attack, that I only got halfway through the book and scrolled t to the last page just to find out that my predictions were correct. Boy, I have never regretted reading a book until now.

One of the redeeming quotes in the book:

“Sometimes I think the human heart is just a simple shelf. There is only so much you can pile onto it before something falls off an edge and you are left to pick up the pieces.” 

 

 

Leave a Reply

