Serenity

 

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

“When a poet digs himself into a hole, he doesn’t climb out. He digs deeper, enjoys the scenery, and comes out the other side enlightened.”
― Criss Jami, Venus in Arms

I am often asked where I get the inspiration to write poems. Most thought that I must be undergoing an extremely long phase of being heartbroken or being in a one-sided relationship. It’s actually funny, because my love life is non-existent. Truth is, I get inspiration mostly from music, from the films I watch, the stories I read, photographs that I love and of course, places so calm and serene that you get lost in your thoughts and memories.

Last Saturday, I went on a fieldtrip to Siniluan Laguna, UPLB Land Grant for my Wildlife class. I was expecting the place would be filled with trees and wild animals that it was a nice surprise to find a man-made lake in the area.

GE DIGITAL CAMERAThere was a floating cottage perfect for relaxing and resting after a long day of hiking and fieldwork. I love how clear the lake was that it appeared like a canvass with the reflection of the sky, the trees and the cottage as the painting. The water was also cool that I couldn’t help but dip my toes.

GE DIGITAL CAMERAOn a side note, I just realized I’ve been blogging for over two years. Yay!

 

Leave a Reply

